About the CEC

About the Cranford Environmental Commission

  • The Cranford Environmental Commission is a statutory board of seven regular Cranford-resident members and two alternates Cranford resident-members. One regular member is designated as the Chair. One of the regular members is also a Planning Board member. The Environmental Commission will study and make recommendations concerning open space preservation, water resources management, air pollution control, solid waste management, noise control, soil and landscape protection, environmental appearance, marine resources and protection of flora and fauna. The Commission's charge is to promote the conservation, protection, development, or use of all Cranford's natural and water resources. by:
  • Planning local conservation programs and informing and recommending these programs to the public and the Township Committee;
  • Implementing conservation programs authorized by the Township Committee;
  • Compiling an index of all public and privately owned open spaces and recommend their uses to the Planning Board.
  • Making recommendations on all development plans before the Planning Board as they affect Cranford's natural and water resources and environment with a focus on conserving and protecting the use of Cranford's natural and water resources and maintaining or enhancing the environment;
  • Recommending plans and programs to the Planning Board for inclusion in the Master Plan;
  • Advertising, preparing, and distributing materials necessary to implement the Commission's activities;
  • Coordinating community conservation matters and as the Township liaison for conservation needs with regional, state, and federal agencies;
  • Acquiring real and personal property to administer, maintain, improve, limit future use of, or conserve and properly utilize open spaces and other land and water areas in the Township; and
  • Producing an annual report of Commission activities.

Cranford Achieved Bronze Sustainable Jersey™  Certification





Cranford Environmental Commission 2016 Membership Roster

Name Membership Status Term
Nelson Dittmar Jr. Chairman 2016-2018
David DesRochers Member 2014-2016
Steve Jandoli Member 2015-2017
Ann Darby Member 2014-2016
Kathleen Murray Planning Board Rep 2016-2018
Carol Berns Member 2015-2017
Donald Jones Member 2016-2018
Ronald Margulis Alternate #1 2015-2016
John Hrebin  Alternate #2 2016-2017
Daniel J. Aschenbach Associate Member 2016
Alyssa Frediani Associate Member 2016
William King Associate Member 2016
Frank Klapinski Associate Member 2016
Ed O'Malley Associate Member 2016
Patricia Pavlak Associate Member 2016
AnaPinto Associate Member 2016
David Pringle Associate Member 2016
Lawrence Russo Associate Member 2016
Mary Sudiak Associate Member 2016
Mary O'Connor  Commissioner/Liaison 2016
Matthew Lubin Fire Prevention Official 2016
Monika Koscova-Jencik Health Officer/Sanitarian 2016